Writing About Telling theTruth

Writing about telling the truth has been a struggle for me over the last couple of weeks.  I have written pages and pages of paragraphs for a blog post but I have struggled to get to the essence of what I want to say.  I know I haven’t hit the mark so I’ve scrapped all the words and will try again later.

I think part of the problem is that most people can’t or won’t agree on what truth is, or what the truth is. Current definition tells us that truth is either something that people accept as truth, or something that is in accordance with fact or reality .  I think there’s a big difference between the two.  It’s a lot like saying a person can be sincere in their accepted belief but they can still be sincerely wrong.  Effectively communicating truth can be very tricky, especially when the definition of truth itself is not rock solid.

And, there are many times when people are afraid of the truth and simply won’t hear it, and in their fear won’t allow others to hear or talk about it either. It can get very complicated, especially when generations of families get enmeshed in avoiding the truth about any given topic.

Our world needs truth tellers–people who tell the truth in a way that others can hear and consider, whether the words are written or spoken.  Being a truth teller is hard work.  It requires wisdom, humility, compassion, the ability to really listen, and the ability to fearlessly carry out the mission. Some readers/listeners will need to know facts before they can hear anything else, while others will respond better to a gentle pulling in, a story maybe, or signs that the truth teller genuinely cares about the person receiving the message.

I am a truth teller, I know these things to be true, but I have to re-learn how to write the words effectively. I’m heading back to the drawing board, ready to start on some new paragraphs.

Leave a Reply

